Musings from the Over Caffeinated Mom

Kids, Career and Caffeine

Mid-Week Rant!

Hello friends and welcome to day 7 of the 365 Days of Blog Marathon. I’m breaking my pattern already, but hey it’s my blog. Since today is Wednesday I’m supposed to go with Wacky & Weird something to give you a good giggle and grin to get you over that mid-week hump. That is not where I’m headed today. The past two days I have had the same issue come up and the more it comes up the more I get irked so I feel the need to get up here on my virtual soapbox and shout “When did it become OK for kids to stop being kids?”

I’m a Mom, I have a Mom and let’s face it most people I know are Mom’s so I have quite a bit of exposure to child rearing. The issue that has my knickers in a twist is quite simply this, why is it that everyone in the education system is hell bent on preparing pre-teen children for what life is going to be like “in the real world”. Give me a freekin break. If I have one more teacher spout this garbage I’m going to lose my mind.

I had to go to a meeting at the school today regarding my darling, but not always angelic, 7 year old son. He was playing with his little friends in the school yard at recess and they decided to play war, complete with yelling the phrase, “I’m going to kill you” at the top of his lungs. This warranted a call from the principal. When this was explained to me at the “meeting” (I put meeting in quotes because it was more like a let’s chastise the parent session) they informed me that this was a suspensionable offence, but that as this was the first time they were willing to let it slide. It took all my will power not to laugh. They went on to explain that this needs to be dealt with because when he gets out into the real world as an adult, this type of behaviour could land him in jail.

GIVE ME A BREAK. He’s seven and they were imagining themselves to be invading a hostile alien planet inhabited by lizards (the lizards in this case were the girls on the playground). I can say with absolute certainty that it was not my son’s intention to cause anyone any harm whatsoever, he was PLAYING… that’s what kids do, they play.

Then on my morning talk show I hear yet another debate about switching primary and secondary school to year round, to prepare them for the “real world”. As a working parent I have to admit that would make life a whole lot easier, but as a person who has once been a kid I say  HELL NO. When I think back on my childhood I would say a good 80% of my favorite childhood memories are of summer vacation.

Why does it seem like growing up is happening younger and younger. Why is everyone so hell bent in taking the joys of a carefree existence away from our children? They will have enough time to learn the ins and outs of the “real world”  after they have had the chance to enjoy their innocence. My 7 year old still firmly believes that he can grow up to be a super-hero and that the tooth fairy is real. I’m quite content to let him hang onto that as long as he can. My kids have my full blessing to be kids. They know their please’s and thank you’s and that dirty socks go in the hamper and that they don’t have to worry about anything because worrying is for grown ups who live in the “real world” and I will be damned if I let anyone teach them differently.

Wow, ok, that was quite a bit longer than I expected it to be so I’ll just hop down off my soapbox and wrap this up. What do you think? Should we start preparing our kids for the harsh realities of life right from the get go? Am I being unreasonable? I’d love to hear the opinions of others.

~Cheryl~

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Mid-Week Rant!

  1. I completely agree. I am my daughters’ #1 advocate for their childhood. Don’t you dare force adulthood on them too soon or you will see one pissed off mama! My mother died when i was 10 and it forced me to grow up way too quickly so I try my hardest to honor my children’s childhood.

    • Good for you Christie!! If we don’t get a handle on this kids need to learn the “real world” crap we’re going to have preschoolers studying wall street! I’ve been following your blog for quite a while now so I’m actually quite honored you stopped by :-).

  2. I completely agree too! I’m not a father at all, but I have written a few posts on the encroaching nanny state in regards to children. It’s becoming more and more sickening. Why force them to grow up so fast? I don’t know.

    Great blog! Glad I found you on BlogCatalog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

