Musings from the Over Caffeinated Mom

Kids, Career and Caffeine

Life is Too Short

Hello friends and welcome to Thursday here at the OCM. Usually today is the day I do Mama Kat’s Writers Workshop, but I had some news today and decided to take my blog another way. Today I realized just how much we all put off because we just assume there is always going to be time to do it later. How utterly naive of us. There are no guarantees that we are going to get a later so we need to do what we can, while we can. Grab your coffees, get comfy and let me tell you about my day.

I have a friend named Kim. She’s a lovely girl. Smart, funny, sweet, just an all around nice person. We have shared many interesting conversations over a cup of tea. Unfortunately we haven’t done that in quite some time. In fact before today, the last time I talked to her was back last fall. We always got along great but over the past 5 years we’ve drifted. I’ve had my life and she’s had hers. I’ve always thought about giving her a call, getting together to go out, but I always put it off for “another time”. We meet on September 14 1996, it was my wedding day. Her then boyfriend, now husband, crashed my wedding reception as their very first date. How fun is that? Guess it was just a lucky day for love all around.

Today I was checking my FB as I always do, just to see what everyone was up to. Kim and I are friends on Facebook, but she isn’t all that active on it, updates it once every couple of months when she gets around to it. Anyway, I see a status update from her husband “Wishing my wife a speedy recovery”. I thought what the hell? What happened? I was able to track it down through a mutual friend.

Kim is in the hospital awaiting surgery, they have found a tumor on her brain. I immediately called her and promptly informed her I was on my way. I went to see her for the first time in almost 5 years. She lives a 15 minute car ride away from me, and it’s been 5 years. I suck as a friend.  She seemed to be in good spirits when I got there, as did her husband, but you can tell they are both very tired and very scared.  It broke my heart to see them there.  I stayed for about half an hour but could see she was exhausted so I took my leave, telling her to call me if she needs anything.

On my way home I got so angry at myself.  I had all the time in the world to be a better friend to Kim and I had wasted it so far. That was mistake. I was doubly angry that it took a health scare for me to realize it. Life is too short to put things off. We should all be doing what we can to wring as much enjoyment as we possibly can out of life each and every day.

I’m hanging on to the thought that Kim is going to be just fine. She is a strong and wonderful person and she’ll be ok.  I truly believe that with all my heart. I’ll have to remember to thank her when I talk to her tomorrow. She taught me an incredible lesson and I intend to embrace it.

Well, thanks as always for stopping by, and hopefully I’ll see you again tomorrow.

~Cheryl~

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

