Musings from the Over Caffeinated Mom

Kids, Career and Caffeine

Truth Hurts

This is something I’ve been mulling over in my head for quite a while. I’ve let it bother me more than I likely should. It’s been niggling around at the back of my brain for longer than I should let it, so I’m finally going to let it out.

Several months ago I was having a conversation with someone who casually told me that they always warn people about me before they meet me. At first I laughed, then it kind of struck me that I’d just been backhandedly insulted. “What?” I said. “No, I don’t mean that in a bad way, it’s just sometimes is hard to know how to take you, you can be kind of abrasive.” That was the explanation. “Oh” I said while in my head thinking gee glad you didn’t mean that in a bad way.

The conversation continued on with more explanations which all boiled down to essentially the same point. I’m a bitch.

That bothered me. I didn’t let on to the person I was talking to just how much it bothered me, but it really hurt. I never thought of myself as someone who required a “warning label”. I’ve always joked that I am a bitch, but deep down I never realized that that’s exactly what most people thought of me.

You know what they say however, the truth hurts. The more I’ve thought about it, the more I realize just how true it is. I have a tendency to call it like I see it. I don’t sugar coat and I don’t pull punches. I am in no way, shape or form a tolerant person. Stupid people irritate me and I don’t hide it. For clarification, I don’t mean that someone who is lacking knowledge on a given subject, I’m talking about a person who wouldn’t know common sense if it slapped them. To me that is what stupid means.

I will occasionally give people the benefit of the doubt, but only once, and not for any extended length of time.

I think I might start up an advice column. Call it “The Truth Hurts”, I mean I might as well play to my strengths right. People can send me their situation and as an uninvolved third party I will just call it as I see it.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Truth Hurts

  1. Well, I guess I am one too! Miss working with you.

Leave a Reply

